Announcement of the 2018 CLiPPA shortlist

April 26, 2018

Our partners CLPE (Centre for Literacy in Primary Education) have announced the shortlist for the 2018 CLiPPA, the children’s poetry award. Judges Grace Nichol, Kate Wakeling, Imogen Lycett Green, Charlotte Hacking and Anthony Anaxagorou have chosen these six great books:
John Agard: The Rainmaker Danced, illustrated by Satoshi Kitamura, Hodder
Ruth Awolola, Victoria Adukwei Bulley, Abigail Cook, Jay Hulme, Amina Jama: Rising Stars, Otter-Barry Books, illustrated by Riya Chowdhury, Elanor Chuah and Joe Manners, Otter-Barry Books
Joseph Coelho: Overheard in a Tower Block, illustrated by Kate Milner, Otter-Barry Books
Sarah Crossan: Moonrise, Bloomsbury
Sue Hardy-Dawson: Where Zebras Go, Otter-Barry Books
Karl Nova: Rhythm and Poetry, illustrated by Joseph Witchall, Caboodle Books

Proof of the lively state of children’s poetry in the UK, this year sees the largest ever number of poetry book submissions following a bumper year for eligible poetry.

Grace Nichols, Poet, winner of the first ever CLiPPA and Chair of the CLiPPA 2018 Judges commented: ‘The judging process involved passionate discussions about which books to shortlist, leading us to come up with a variety of fresh new voices joined by established ones. This shortlist showcases a vibrant selection of poetry books that children will love to explore’.

Schools are now invited to sign up for CLPE’s excellent Shadowing scheme.

The winner of the 2018 Award will be announced on 22nd June in the Olivier Theatre at the National Theatre in London.